After the 2013 law on higher education and research was passed, and the higher education and research centres (PRES) were abolished, the universities and research institutes in Languedoc‑Roussillon decided to come together to form a community of universities and establishments known as ‘Languedoc-Roussillon Universités’.

On 30 December 2014, the community of universities and establishments known as ‘Languedoc-Roussillon Universités’ (ComUE LR-Universités) was created, with the legal form of a publicly-funded scientific, cultural and professional establishment.

ComUE Languedoc-Roussillon Universités manages from an administrative and legal point of view various joint inter-establishment centres, units, services and projects:

Gilles Halbout is the first elected president of Languedoc-Roussillon Universités (ComUE LR‑Universités).

Statutes as at 30 December 2014 : Decree No 2014-1682 of 30 December 2014
Amendment of the statutes on 1 October 2015 : Decree No 2015-1218 of 1 October 2015
2015-2019 multiannual site contract : 2015-2019 multiannual site contract
Internal regulations : RI_COMUE_Languedoc_Roussillon_Universites.pdf
ComUE LR-Universités strategic plan : Projet-strategique-COMUE.pdf
Annual Report 2018 of ComUE LR-Universités : ComUE-RA-2018.pdf
Master Plan for the Improvement of Student Life, dated 22-12-2017 : SDAVE-ComUE.pdf
Montpellier Operation Campus property and development strategy :
Download the ComUE Languedoc-Roussillon Universités functional organisation chart : Organigramme_fonctionnel.pdf
Download our division presentation : ComUE-presentation-poles.pdf
Download the ComUE Languedoc-Roussillon Universités logo : Square logo / Horizontal logo / Corporate identity

The 4 universities and the many research bodies in the Montpellier Académie area, part of a long tradition of collaborative working in a changing regional, national and international context, decided to contribute collectively as members, associates and partners to the creation of the Languedoc-Roussillon Universités community of universities and other establishments (COMUE LR-Universités), a public body jointly working to the 2015-2019 multiannual site contract in the Montpellier Académie and encouraging the setting up of ambitious unifying projects focusing on research, but also on training, the international scene and, more generally, all forms of interaction with society.

Languedoc-Roussillon Universités is a unique setup in which a group of autonomous higher education establishments and research bodies retain their own legal form but have agreed to coordinate their work and pool certain resources as part of a common project defined and implemented jointly.

Languedoc-Roussillon Universités, a public scientific, cultural and professional establishment set up in the form of a community of universities and other institutions, came into being on 29 December 2014.

Languedoc-Roussillon Universités has 8 members, 2 associates, 3 partners and 3 cooperating partners.

ComUE coordinates the site’s strategic planning, which is the subject of a contract with the government. On 20 July 2015, Emmanuel Roux, President of the University of Nîmes, and interim director of Languedoc-Roussillon Universités (ComUE LR-Universités) signed the 2015-2019 site contract, in the presence of members of ComUE, with the Ministry of National Education, Higher Education and Research. The common section of the site contract reflects the shared ambition of the members of ComUE in terms of research, training, the use and particularly the transfer of technology, integration of users into the workplace, international action, communication, the spread of scientific, technical and industrial culture, and campus life. The powers assigned to ComUE demonstrate the desire of the institutions on the site to promote common projects, whether in relation to the running of Operation Campus or the management of ESPE-LR. As part of the site policy, the BIU and the regional university CFA (ENSUP-LR) are managed respectively by Paul Valéry-Montpellier 3 University and the University of Montpellier.

ComUE is primarily a service organisation. Its primary mission is to identify each institution's strengths and complementary capabilities in training, research, innovation and transfer, international relations, digital, and student life, and to propose joint actions as a result of inter‑establishment consultation, related to the local socioeconomic fabric. A flexible, federative structure based on cooperation and dialogue, far from substituting the institutions it represents, it should facilitate the emergence and establishment of joint actions. The ComUE LR-Universités strategic plan presents these actions grouped into five spheres of activity: the academic structure of the site, data policy, international, campus policy and socioeconomic inclusion. In particular, these actions aim to forge new unifying academic projects, to encourage access and circulation of staff and students on and between the different sites, to develop relations between the academic and business worlds by encouraging inclusion and reintegration into the workplace, to affirm the site's identity through communication actions aimed at the general public and national and international authorities, and to raise its international profile by improving its hosting facilities.

ComUE is administered by a governing board. The governing board is assisted by a council of members and an academic council. It is directed by a president, assisted by vice-presidents.

Any publicly-funded higher education institution supervised by the ministry responsible for higher education and research, or subject to oversight by a similar body and subject to assessment by the Higher Council for Research and Higher Education Assessment, which is based in France, may be a member of ComUE Languedoc-Roussillon Universités.

Associates undertake to share at least three areas of expertise under the site policy. Any establishment or public or private body contributing to the public service missions of higher education or research may be an associate of ComUE Languedoc-Roussillon Universités. It has the following associates:

A number of partnership agreements with research bodies and schools are currently under discussion with ComUE Languedoc-Roussillon Universités.

Higher education and research establishments, research bodies and other institutions will continue to join the grouping organised by Languedoc-Roussillon Universités (ComUE LR‑Universités):

A number of partnership agreements with research bodies and schools are currently under discussion with ComUE Languedoc-Roussillon Universités.

Higher education and research establishments, research bodies and other institutions will continue to join the grouping organised by Languedoc-Roussillon Universités (ComUE LR‑Universités):

Back to top